To Nashville and Back

I plan to do another book review in the somewhat near future, as a part of my return to ad hoc blogging status. I have been preoccupied with a trip to Nashville.

It was a great trip to a great city.

Amazingly enough, I had never been to Nashville, even though it is a mere half-day journey from the foothills of North Carolina. I saw Carrie Underwood at the Opry. I saw Wynonna Judd at the Ryman. Loved both.

But I am especially interested in the newer and lesser known artists who I also saw, such as Margo Price. She played the Opry with Carrie, and I enjoyed Margo more. That is not surprising, because Margo Price is everything right about country music.

“Hands of Time” is a personal song, autobiographical throughout, including the loss of a child. Thanks to the acclaim from this debut album, Margo was invited to perform on SNL last year:

For her second slot on SNL that night, she performed “Since You Put Me Down.” This was the song that turned me onto Margo Price, thanks to a 2014 video she released of the song:

I could talk about many other artists in Nashville, but Margo Price is enough for now. She is well-worth your attention.

One comment

  1. […] from Blessed or Damned to his brilliant Trucking Sessions Trilogy. As I said recently about Margo Price, he is everything that is right about country […]

Leave a Reply

