Annie Lee Davis

August 13, 2012

I spent the day scanning and restoring this photo of my great-grandmother, Annie Lee Davis, née Atkinson. She was a gentle woman. Sadly, she died while giving birth to my grandfather, probably within a few years after this photo was taken.

Click to enlarge.

Here is the original:

This is my first attempt at a significant photo restoration, so I’m rather happy how well it turned out. A large portrait of Annie stood over my grandfather’s dining table his whole life.

 

2 Responses to “Annie Lee Davis”

  1. John said

    What beautiful eyes. Recently I saw a photo of my maternal grandfather’s parents, who came from Canada. From their appearance, it was obvious which parent was British, which French.

    • Kevin Davis said

      Yes, she was a very beautiful woman. I haven’t traced her lineage yet, but the surname of Atkinson is predominant in Northern England. Our Davis lineage goes back to Wales and the southwest of England.

Leave a Reply

