Thunder Road

It’s been a while since I posted any music. The following video is one of my all-time favorite discoveries on YouTube. Amateur singer-guitarists are far too abundant on YouTube, garnering no doubt the support of family and friends, but otherwise not worthy of any notice. Yet, by happenstance, you’ll come across a gem like this: a beautiful, heartfelt, and competent cover of Springsteen’s “Thunder Road.”

Performed by Emily Crowley. “Thunder Road” is the opening track on Bruce Springsteen’s 1975 release, Born to Run.

4 comments

    • I’ve only heard “We Take Care of Our Own,” so I can’t really judge the album. I’m actually not an especially big Springsteen fan. There are songs here and there that I really enjoy: “Thunder Road,” “Atlantic City,” “Murder Incorporated,” “American Skin (41 Shots),” and “Lonesome Day” come to mind. These are some of my favorite songs, but I can’t get into his albums as a whole. By contrast, I only listen to the whole album for my favorite artists: such as CCR, Waylon Jennings, Led Zeppelin, Merle Haggard, Bob Dylan, Tom Petty, and Ryan Bingham. Oh, and of course Bach, Telemann, Handel, Mozart, and Copland!

      • Well anyone who’s a Dylan fan and listens to full albums in this single-song age is good by me. 😉 I guess I have about 20+ artists that I listen to at least semi-regularly: a mix of 60s/70s rock, various singer-songwriters ranging from the peaceful to the weird, and newer alt-rock (and U2, who doesn’t fit with any of those). Generally I prefer jazz over classical, not that I dislike classical though.

        I have been meaning to give Haggard a try, since I generally like “real” country but Cash is the only one I’ve heard much of.

      • Yes, you must give Merle (and Waylon) a try. I highly recommend getting the original albums. Although, Hag: The Best of Merle Haggard is a good collection of his standard tunes. As for the albums, Capitol Records has done a fine job of re-releasing some of Merle’s early seminal albums: Mama Tried and Pride In What I Am are released together on one disc. Also, I’m a Lonesome Fugitive and Branded Man are put together in the same series of re-releases.

Leave a Reply

