So true

January 26, 2009

Ben Myers on “God does not magnify himself.”

2 Responses to “So true”

  1. Fred said

    Well, I found the comments over at F&T to be fascinating and highly instructive. I don’t have a dog in this fight: I find an interesting affinity between Edwards’s theology and the trinitarian theology of communion of persons who creates the world, thus extending the communion to contingent creation.

  2. I enjoyed the comments as well, though you have to be rather familiar with Calvinism to get the full scope of Myers’ criticism.

    I haven’t studied that Trinitarian aspect of Edwards yet, but I’m sure it is excellent. As much as I may disagree with certain particulars of Edwards, I owe him much: he was the first real theologian I ever studied, and his balance of orthodoxy and pietism has been an inspiration for me ever since.

Leave a Reply

