Understanding Catholicism

Halden, of Inhabitatio Dei, has a great post on Christocentrism and Catholicism. This is a fine example of a constructive critiquing of another ecclesial tradition.

Update: I particularly find illuminating Brian Hamilton’s comment in the combox:

“Facing the option of ‘conversion’ to Catholicism quite regularly myself (how could one not, studying at Notre Dame?), my reasons for doing so would be overwhelmingly Christocentric: based on my encounter with and judgment by Christ in every mass, under the form of the Eucharist (which simultaneous blessing and judgment I long for, but cannot, estranged, receive) or the priestly blessing or indeed the homily. The robust doctrine of mediation in this context, eucharistic or priestly, seems to me to increase Catholic worship’s Christocentric character rather than deny it, since Christ is shown to be truly present with us, independent of us, against our sins and the source of our faith. In contrast, my Mennonite community’s high Christocentrism without a real principle of sacramentality means that Christ is only anymore present in and through the congregation, without any real separation, which makes it not less but more difficult to know Christ’s judgment over against us. In my own experience with Mennonites, then, a thorough Christocentrism almost can’t avoid being reduced to a community-centeredness. If I ever became Catholic, I would do it for the touch and taste of Christ. For what it’s worth, one counter-anecdote.”

One comment

Leave a Reply

