Back from California!

July 9, 2014

So, I have been away for the past week on a family vacation to Northern California — my brother, myself, and the parents. It was the first time I have ever been to the west coast. We started with Yosemite National Park, then the wine country (Sonoma Valley), and then San Francisco. The temperature change was ridiculous! The weather was in the 100’s in Yosemite, then the 80’s in Sonoma, and then 50’s/low-60’s in San Francisco! The wind chill was in the forties! It’s July! My brother quoted Mark Twain, “The coldest winter I ever spent was a summer in San Francisco.” As beautiful as San Francisco is, I am far too acclimated to weather in Dixie to ever live in SF, unless I could acquire one of the endless number of gorgeous houses that line every street. There is a reason why SF is the most expensive city in America.

In San Francisco, we went through Haight-Ashbury. I was a bit disappointed. I wore my General Lee t-shirt (Dukes of Hazzard), and I didn’t receive even a mild rebuke! Seriously, I expect more gusto from the liberals on Haight Street. Oh well. They did have a huge rainbow flag waving.

Here are some of my pictures (click to enlarge):

Yosemite. Huge rocks are everywhere!

Yosemite, near lower falls. Huge rocks are everywhere!

Trees growing out of rocks!

Olmsted Point in Yosemite. Trees growing out of rocks!

Tunnel View in Yosemite. Half Dome is the farthest. El Capitan is on the left -- the largest rock face in the world.

Tunnel View in Yosemite. Half Dome is the farthest. El Capitan is on the left — the largest rock face in the world.

Glacier Point. Half Dome is on the right.

Glacier Point. Half Dome is on the right.

My brother next to a Giant Sequoia tree-- the largest living organism in the world!

My brother next to a Giant Sequoia tree– the largest living organism in the world!

Yosemite Chapel. Erected in 1879 by the California State Sunday School Association. It is still operating as a nondenom evangelical church, with tracts quoting John 3:16 and asking, "What will you do with Jesus? Neutral you cannot be."

Yosemite Chapel. Erected in 1879 by the California State Sunday School Association. It is still operating as a nondenom evangelical church, with tracts quoting John 3:16 and asking, “What will you do with Jesus? Neutral you cannot be.”

Franciscan Mission in Sonoma. Founded in 1823 -- the northernmost Franciscan mission.

Franciscan Mission in Sonoma. Founded in 1823 — the northernmost Franciscan mission.

Random street in San Francisco. Nearly every house is like this!

Random street in San Francisco. Nearly every house is like this!

Golden Gate Bridge. The fog never lifted.

Golden Gate Bridge. The fog never lifted.

Another random street.

Another random street.

Old Saint Mary's Church in Chinatown. The only structure to survive the 1906 earthquake and fire.

Old Saint Mary’s Church in Chinatown. The only structure to survive the 1906 earthquake and fire.

Outside of a coffee shop. St. Ignatius Catholic Church is in the background.

Outside of a coffee shop. St. Ignatius Catholic Church is in the background.

7 Responses to “Back from California!”

  1. Rod said

    Welcome back mate. The pictures are interesting, especially the Franciscan Mission. Semi-big fans of Daisy & the ‘Good ole boys’. Given the context, gutsy move stepping out wearing the t-shirt :).

  2. Daniel Svendsen said

    Glad you had a good trip, welcome back.

  3. Mike Cheek said

    Ah yes, freezing in San Francisco. After I got married, for our honeymoon we drove up the California coast. (My wife and I were both living in Pasadena and attending Fuller Seminary at the time.) It was August and we asked my wife’s former roommate (who was from that area) what the weather would be like up there? Do we need warm clothes? “Oh no, don’t bring any warm clothes, dress for summer.” We never understood why she said that because of course when we got to SF we about froze to death. It is one part of our honeymoon we’ll never forget. Guess somehow I didn’t know about Mark Twain’s quote, but I can believe him after my own experience. When it’s a cold damp foggy day the wind can really chill you if you’re not dressed for it.

    Had the opportunity to go back a couple of years with our youngest three kids and show them our old haunts. (We now live in Texas.) One thing that amazed me is how the natives can parallel park on these very steep streets. That’s a real talent.

    Glad you got to see some of the sights.

    • Kevin Davis said

      I was warned about the weather in San Francisco, but I only half-believed it — so I brought just one jacket and a bunch of t-shirts! I wore the jacket the entire three days we were in SF.

      Out of curiosity and while we were waiting on dinner at a restaurant, I used my brother’s iPhone to check the weather elsewhere. SF was about the same temperature as International Falls, Minnesota and Winnipeg, Manitoba — two of the coldest places in North America! It’s very strange how SF has this particular micro-climate that is so vastly different from other places just a few miles away. Sacramento, for example, is not too far from SF, about an hour and a half drive, and yet they were in the 100’s all week!

  4. […] is another photo from my recent vacation […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 156 other followers

